Discrimination - Your Rights

Types of discrimination ('protected characteristics')

It is against the law to discriminate against anyone because of:
  • age
  • gender reassignment
  • being married or in a civil partnership
  • being pregnant or on maternity leave
  • disability
  • race including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  • religion or belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation
These are called ‘protected characteristics’.
You are protected from discrimination:
  • at work
  • in education
  • as a consumer
  • when using public services
  • when buying or renting property
  • as a member or guest of a private club or association
You are legally protected from discrimination by the Equality Act 2010.
You are also protected from discrimination if:
  • you are associated with someone who has a protected characteristic, for example a family member or friend
  • you have complained about discrimination or supported someone else’s claim

Action against discrimination

You can do something voluntarily to help people with a protected characteristic. This is called ‘positive action’.
Taking positive action is legal if people with a protected characteristic:
  • are at a disadvantage
  • have particular needs
  • are under-represented in an activity or type of work

See also:

For further information: